## 31-22-4. Crime victims reparation commission created; membership; reimbursement.

A. There is created in the executive branch of government a "crime victims reparation commission" which shall consist of five members appointed by the governor for staggered terms of four years each. Not more than three of the members shall belong to the same political party. One of the members shall be an attorney licensed to practice law in the state, one of the members shall be a physician licensed to practice medicine in the state and one of the members shall be a representative of a law enforcement agency. In making the initial appointments, the governor shall appoint three members for a term of two years each and two members for a term of four years each. Thereafter, appointments shall be for a term of four years. The governor may appoint a person to fill a vacancy for the balance of the unexpired term.

B. The members of the commission shall annually elect from their membership a chairman and vice chairman.

C. Members of the commission, while in the actual performance of their duties pursuant to the Crime Victims Reparation Act, shall be reimbursed as provided in the Per Diem and Mileage Act [10-8-1 NMSA 1978].

D. The commission may employ a director and such staff as is necessary to perform its functions.

History: Laws 1981, ch. 325, § 4; 1989, ch. 246, § 2; 1993, ch. 207, § 3.